Return Today in the History of Literature, Journalism, Stage & Media Return


Children's Authors & Illustrators
1903 (Mikro) Christoffel Hermanus Kühn (South African Children's Author) South African Authors Young-adult Authors South African Hisatory
1917 Walter Lord (Maryland-born Historical Novelist) Maryland Authors Young-adult Authors
1920 Barthe DeClements (Washington-born Children's Author) Barthe DeClements Young-adult Authors
Frank Herbert (Washington-born Science Fiction Author of Dune) Frank Herbert
1925 Edward Ormondroyd (Pennsylvania-born Children's Author) Pennsylvania Authors and Illustrators Primary Authors Young-adult Authors Purple House Press
1930 Faith Ringgold (New York City-born African-American Children's Author, Illustrator) Faith Ringgold Primary Authors American Artists African American Authors
1936 Suzanne Newton (North Carolina-born Children's Author) North Carolina Authors Young-adult Authors
1939 Harvey Pekar (Ohio-born Creator of the American Splendor Comic Book Series) Ohio Authors Young-adult Authors Official Web Site Writer's Almanac
1943 R.L. Stine (Ohio-born Author of Creepy Children's Books) R.L. Stine Young-adult Authors
1946 Bel Mooney (English Writer, Broadcaster, Painter, Children's Author) English Authors and Illustrators Primary Authors Young-adult Authors Bewl Mooney
Authors, Poets, Playwrights and Journalists
1871 Albert Edward Wiggam (Indiana-born Journalist, Author) Indiana Authors Journalism
1892 Marina Ivanova Tsvetaeva (Russian Poet) Marina Ivanova Tsvetaeva Poetry
1905 Meyer Levin (Chicago-born Writer) Meyer Levin Judaism
1927 Patrick D. Smith (Mississippi-born Author) Mississippi Authors) Mississippi Writers Project)
Persons of Historic Significance Who Have Died on This Date
1754 Henry Fielding (English Author) Henry Fielding Authors
1898 The First Issue of the Magazine "Musical America" Is Published Journalism Music Historic Firsts Musical America American Public Media
1970 Alexander Solzhenitsyn Is Selected as the Nobel Laureate for Literature Alexander Solzhenitsyn The Cold War 1970 Nobel Laureate for Literature History Channel
1979 Sugar Babies Opens on Broadway Musical Theater Internet Broadway Database
2010 Nobel Foundation Awards Peace Price to Liu Xiaobo, Chinese Writer and Political Dissident Liu Xiaobo 2010 Nobel Laureate for Peace

Have an item you would like for us to add? Let us know!

Click Here! E-mail